COUNCIL

Minutes of the meeting held on 18 January 2018 at 7.00 pm in Council Chamber, Council Offices, Cecil Street, Margate, Kent.

Present: Councillors Ashbee, Bambridge, Bayford, Braidwood, Brimm,

Buckley, Campbell, G Coleman-Cooke, K Coleman-Cooke, Connor, Constantine, Crow-Brown, Curran, Dawson, Day, Dellar, Dennis, Dexter, Dixon, Edwards, Evans, J Fairbrass, L Fairbrass, Falcon, Fenner, Game, I Gregory, Grove, Hayton, G Hillman, Howes, Jaye-Jones, Johnston, Larkins, Martin, Matterface, Messenger, Parsons,

L Piper, S Piper, L Potts, R Potts, Pugh, Rogers, Rusiecki,

D Saunders, M Saunders, Savage, Shonk, Stummer-Schmertzing,

Taylor, Tomlinson, Townend, Venables and Wells.

1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies were received from Councillor Taylor-Smith.

2. ANNOUNCEMENTS

Congratulations were offered to Councillor Pugh on his recent election.

The Chairman announced that Mr Hoser, a former Councillor between 1973 and 1981, had recently passed away. Members stood for a minute's silence as a mark of respect.

3. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest.

4. LOCAL PLAN

Ms Homer, Chief Executive, Thanet District Council provided Members with a brief precis of the potential outcomes if the draft local plan was not put forward for publication and submitted to the Planning Inspectorate.

It was proposed by Councillor L Fairbrass and seconded by the Leader that:

"Following the publication period, the draft Local Plan would be submitted to the Planning Inspectorate for examination."

During the debate, Members focused on the proposed change of designation to the former Manston Airport site from an airport to a site for mixed-use.

Councillor Matterface proposed, Councillor Campbell seconded and Members agreed that a recorded vote should be conducted.

The Monitoring Officer conducted a recorded vote on the motion as follows:

20 Members voted in favour the motion: Councillors Campbell, G Coleman-Cooke, Connor, Constantine, Crow-Brown, Dellar, Dixon, J Fairbrass, L Fairbrass, Falcon, Fenner, Grove, Hillman, Johnston, Larkins, Matterface, Stummer-Schmertzing, Townend, Venables and Wells.

35 Members voted against the motion: Councillors Ashbee, Bambridge, Bayford, Braidwood, Brimm, Buckley, K Coleman-Cooke, Curran, Dawson, Day, Dennis, Dexter, Edwards, Evans, Game, Gregory, Hayton, Howes, Jaye-Jones, Martin, Messenger, Parsons, L Piper, S Piper, L Potts, R Potts, Pugh, Rogers, Rusiecki, D Saunders, M Saunders, Savage, Shonk, Taylor and Tomlinson.

0 Member abstained from voting on the motion.

The motion was lost.

Meeting concluded: 7.40 pm